Penington and Hadfield Awards 2015


Six public housing tenants and groups have been recognised for the voluntary contribution they have made to supporting their neighbourhoods.

Minister for Housing, Disability & Ageing Martin Foley yesterday announced that Michael Aboujundi has won the Frances Penington Award and Anna Rogalina has won this year’s Molly Hadfield Award.

Michael Aboujundi, a Syrian refugee who came to Melbourne in 2000, was recognised for his work as a tenant advocate and spokesperson for residents of the Northcote housing estate. Michael is a member of the VPTA Board.

Anna Rogalina was recognised for her work supporting older members of her public housing community in South Melbourne who have lost a partner or who are at risk of becoming isolated. She also runs community groups on the estate.

Wendy Dyckhoff, Martha Monyping and the Horace Petty Parents’ Group received special commendations in the Frances Penington Award, and Joan Mitchell’s work was acknowledged with a special commendation in the Molly Hadfield Award.

The Frances Penington Award has been presented since 1998 to a tenant or group of tenants who have voluntarily supported their local community.

The Award honours the late Frances Penington, a Commissioner of the Housing Commission and the first woman appointed to the board of a statutory authority in Victoria.

The Molly Hadfield Award recognises the support provided to older community members and is named after the late Mary (Molly) Hadfield, who was a committed activist for public housing tenants.

Minister Martin Foley said: “The Andrews Labor Government would like to acknowledge the great volunteer work of our public-housing tenants. They are community-minded people seeking to do something for others.”

“All of those being recognised today are strong advocates for tenants. They bring people together and make their neighbourhoods great places to live.”